What is a research database and why should I use it?
Research databases at Mears Library provide access to premium, scholarly content. Often this is the only way to access that content without paying for it up front. You get really accurate results when you use multiple search fields and limit by peer reviewed or full text. Get results:
grounded in research
written by credible authors
using evidence from research findings
with cited references
The bad news? They can be hard to navigate! Check out these resources to help you use research databases with confidence:
Use A-Z Databases to select the right databases for your research
Not all databases are alike! Just like picking the right keyword for your project, picking the right database makes the research process easier. Here are some strategies:
Get specific: pick your academic area from the Subject Guide list for curated databases
Start broad: Use the A-Z Database list and filter as needed
Subject: databases by academic area
Type: Use Background Information for at the start of your project, and Academic/Scholarly for peer reviewed and scholarly sources
Best bets? Check out Recommended Databases for top databases for all areas
Click on the links below for tutorials and resources for our most popular databases.
Academic Search Premier, ERIC, EBSCO MegaFile, GreenFile (EBSCO)
Advanced search: guided instructions instructions or video tutorial
ProQuest Research Library, PyscInfo, Healthcare Administration, ERIC, Criminal Justice Database and Newspapers (ProQuest)
Science Direct
JSTOR and ARTstor
Films on Demand, Credo Reference and Writer's Reference Center (Infobase)
NexisUni, Criminal Justice, Political Science
Full list of Database Tutorials: click here