LibGuides: Education Subject Guide: Subject Guide

Specific Scholarly Resources

Curated academic resources for Education

EBSCO Educational Administration Abstracts Why search here? Find citations for journal articles in all areas of educational administration, leadership, management, and research.What's inside? Abstracts and indexing for academic journals
ERIC via EBSCO Why search here? ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers. It includes unique limiters such as: education level, WWC Reviewed, assessment type, and intended audience. Use the education-specific thesaurus to refine your search. What's inside? Academic journals, eBooks, conference papers, classroom guides, curriculum guides, dissertations, policy papers, instructional materials
ERIC via ProQuest Why search here? ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers. It includes unique limiters such as: education level, WWC Reviewed, assessment type, and intended audience. Use the education-specific thesaurus to refine your search. What's inside? Academic journals, eBooks, conference papers, classroom guides, curriculum guides, dissertations, policy papers, instructional materials
Professional Development Collection Why search here? Highly specialized database of full-text information for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.What's inside? Academic journals, abstracts, bibliographies, case studies, reviews, periodicals
Teacher Reference Center Why search here? Contains 230 of the most popular teacher and administration sources. Covers subjects including assessment, instructional media, literacy standards, administration and continuing education. What's inside? Academic journals, magazines, reviews, case studies, biographies, educational reports, abstracts
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Why search here? World's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from 1637 to the present.What's inside? dissertations, citations, abstracts
LearningExpress Library Why search here? Easy to use online test prep resource. Improve core academic skills in math, reading and writing, or study to become a U.S. citizen. Targeted learning centers include prep for academic skills improvement and entrance exams for the NCLEX, PRAXIS, ASWB, EMT, NRP, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, ASVAB, firefighter, law enforcement and many, many more.What's inside? Academic prep, career exams, practice tests, interactive tutorials, microlessons, eBooks, articles, flashcards
Writer's Reference Center

Media resources for Educators

Films On Demand - Education
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics include curriculum & instruction, foundations, psychology, special education and speech/language. Includes the instructional series by Makematic, Digital Storytelling, which outlines why digital storytelling is important, and how to create digital stories.

Resources for learners in grades K-5

Database access provided through the South Dakota Board of Regents, these resources will be accessible at all public schools in South Dakota.

BookFlix Why search here? Interactive storybooks and nonfiction eBooks paired to support early literacy development. Also includes puzzles, interactive quizzes and links to related learning resources. Great for students grades PreK-3. What's inside? videos, eBooks, interactive games
Books and Authors Why search here? Booklists for read-a-likes, award winners and themes. Search by unique filters such as audience, time period or character, as well as by author's ethnicity or nationality. What's inside? book database, author database
CultureGrams Why search here? Cultural information on more than 200 countries, as well as reports from the 50 states and 13 Canadian provinces. Reports written and reviewed by in-country experts, and kept up-to-date as new information becomes available. Great for students grades 3-8. What's inside? overview reports, culture and lifestyle reports, biographies, data & graph tables, flags, maps, glossaries of cultural terms, currency converter, recipes, curriculum standards correlations, photo galleries, slideshows, videos, audio files
EBSCO Primary Search Why search here? Carefully curated content for elementary aged users, and great for developing lesson plans. Includes popular children's magazines, eBooks and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written especially for kids. What's inside? Almanacs, biographies, eBooks, encyclopedias, primary source documents, reference books, reports, reviews, newspapers and periodicals
Funk &Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Why search here? Contains over 25,000 reference entries to support research needs of middle and high school students. What's inside?  Encyclopedias 
LearningExpress Library Why search here? Easy to use online test prep resource. Improve core academic skills in math, reading and writing, or study to become a U.S. citizen. Targeted learning centers include prep for academic skills improvement and entrance exams for the NCLEX, PRAXIS, ASWB, EMT, NRP, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, ASVAB, firefighter, law enforcement and many, many more.What's inside? Academic prep, career exams, practice tests, interactive tutorials, microlessons, eBooks, articles, flashcards
Science Reference Source Why search here? Search information on a wide range of science topics. Includes over 1,000 science experiments and 2,000 biographies, as well as reference books periodicals. Also includes more than 1,850 videos and high quality scientific images from NASA, Getty and Nature Picture Library. Great for high school science. What's inside? Magazines, academic journals, biographies, reviews, reference books, encyclopedias, lesson plans, images, videos, science experiments, curriculum standards moduleDig deeper: Filter results by Lexile level. Use the Curriculum Standards Module to identify EBSCO search terms that align to content standards by grade/subject area.

Resources for learners in grades 6-8

Database access provided through the South Dakota Board of Regents, these resources will be accessible at all public schools in South Dakota.

Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S. Why search here? Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials support research with rich primary source information for projects around U.S. Black history. Spans the timeframe of 1790-present.What's inside? Images, slavery records, obituaries, legislation, government documents, articles, magazines, periodicals
Books and Authors Why search here? Booklists for read-a-likes, award winners and themes. Search by unique filters such as audience, time period or character, as well as by author's ethnicity or nationality. What's inside? book database, author database
Consumer Health Complete - Consumer Edition Why search here? Complete articles from more than 480 sources on health topics for all ages. Includes evidence-based reports, medical images and up-to-date reference books, as well as drug information in English and Spanish. includes articles, images, videos & animations, drug information, reference books, and reports.What's inside? academic journals, magazines, encyclopedias, medical images, diagrams, and animations 
CultureGrams Why search here? Cultural information on more than 200 countries, as well as reports from the 50 states and 13 Canadian provinces. Reports written and reviewed by in-country experts, and kept up-to-date as new information becomes available. Great for students grades 3-8. What's inside? overview reports, culture and lifestyle reports, biographies, data & graph tables, flags, maps, glossaries of cultural terms, currency converter, recipes, curriculum standards correlations, photo galleries, slideshows, videos, audio files
Digital Library of South Dakota Why search here? A consortium of public universities and other state partners made unique archival collections available in digitally searchable and accessible versions. This site is a portal to the collections of the participating organizations, and includes primary source information on influential individuals in South Dakota. What's inside? personal papers, manuscripts, artifacts, university publications, student publications, images, audio
Digital Public Library of America Why search here? Libraries, archives, museums and cultural institutions from across the United States have opened their digital archives to make nearly 50,000,000 items accessible to the public. View online exhibits, and browse by either topic, or primary source set to retrieve one-of-a kind primary source material. What's inside? personal papers, manuscripts, artifacts, images, audio, video
EBSCO eBook Collection Why search here? A wide selection of academic eBooks covering all subject areas. Find additional titles in categories such as Children's and YA fiction, biographies or memoirs. Dig deeper: Search by Lexile using the Lexile field code in the Find field. For example, search LX 410 to find eBooks matching that level.
EBSCO Newspaper Source Why search here? Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for over 500 regional, national, and international sources. Includes radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News and more.What's inside? Newspapers, news wires, magazines, radio transcripts, speeches
Funk &Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Why search here? Contains over 25,000 reference entries to support research needs of middle and high school students. What's inside?  Encyclopedias 
LearningExpress Library Why search here? Easy to use online test prep resource. Improve core academic skills in math, reading and writing, or study to become a U.S. citizen. Targeted learning centers include prep for academic skills improvement and entrance exams for the NCLEX, PRAXIS, ASWB, EMT, NRP, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, ASVAB, firefighter, law enforcement and many, many more.What's inside? Academic prep, career exams, practice tests, interactive tutorials, microlessons, eBooks, articles, flashcards
Middle Search Plus Why search here? Find full-text for hundreds of popular magazines and eBooks covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more. Specifically designed for middle school users, it contains thousands of primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press. It includes the Encyclopedia of Animals and reference eBooks from top publishers Unique full-text magazines include: Cobblestone, Discover, Newsweek. Science News, Sports illustrated Kids, TIME for Kids and U.S .News & World Report.  What's inside? Academic journal, reference books, primary source documents, government documents, periodicals, reviews, country reports, books, newspapers, imagesDig deeper: Search by Lexile level or by Image collection.
Science Reference Source Why search here? Search information on a wide range of science topics. Includes over 1,000 science experiments and 2,000 biographies, as well as reference books periodicals. Also includes more than 1,850 videos and high quality scientific images from NASA, Getty and Nature Picture Library. Great for high school science. What's inside? Magazines, academic journals, biographies, reviews, reference books, encyclopedias, lesson plans, images, videos, science experiments, curriculum standards moduleDig deeper: Filter results by Lexile level. Use the Curriculum Standards Module to identify EBSCO search terms that align to content standards by grade/subject area. 
SIRS Discoverer Why search here? Find reference books on subjects ranging from animals to history to science. Includes information for elementary teachers including curriculum activities, biographies, country facts, careers, holidays, photo essays, pictures, and maps. Great for students in grades K-6. What's inside? Newspapers, magazines, images, encyclopedias, web resources
If you try to access the database and are asked to log in, please use the back button to return to this page. Then click the link again and you should be able to access the database.
SIRS Issues Researcher Why search here? Reference information on topical issues such as business, civil rights, crime, drugs, the environment and the world. Great for students in grades 6-12. What's inside? Newspapers, magazines, images, encyclopedias, web resources, government sources, scholarly journals
If you try to access the database and are asked to log in, please use the back button to return to this page. Then click the link again and you should be able to access the database.

Resources for learners in grades 9-12

Database access provided through the South Dakota Board of Regents, these resources will be accessible at all public schools in South Dakota.

Books and Authors Why search here? Booklists for read-a-likes, award winners and themes. Search by unique filters such as audience, time period or character, as well as by author's ethnicity or nationality. What's inside? book database, author database
Consumer Health Complete - Consumer Edition Why search here? Complete articles from more than 480 sources on health topics for all ages. Includes evidence-based reports, medical images and up-to-date reference books, as well as drug information in English and Spanish. includes articles, images, videos & animations, drug information, reference books, and reports.What's inside? academic journals, magazines, encyclopedias, medical images, diagrams, and animations 
Digital Library of South Dakota Why search here? A consortium of public universities and other state partners made unique archival collections available in digitally searchable and accessible versions. This site is a portal to the collections of the participating organizations, and includes primary source information on influential individuals in South Dakota. What's inside? personal papers, manuscripts, artifacts, university publications, student publications, images, audio
Digital Public Library of America Why search here? Libraries, archives, museums and cultural institutions from across the United States have opened their digital archives to make nearly 50,000,000 items accessible to the public. View online exhibits, and browse by either topic, or primary source set to retrieve one-of-a kind primary source material. What's inside? personal papers, manuscripts, artifacts, images, audio, video
EBSCO MAS Complete Why search here? Find full-text for hundreds of popular magazines and eBooks covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more. Specifically designed for high school users, it contains thousands of primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press. Unique full-text magazines include: The Atlantic, Congressional Digest, History Today, The Nation, Newsweek, Scientific American, The Saturday Evening Post, TIME, and U.S. News & World Report. What's inside? Academic journal, reference books, primary source documents, government documents, periodicals, reviews, country reports, books, newspapers, imagesDive deeper: Search by Lexile level or by Image collection.
European Views of the Americas, 1493 to 1750 Why search here? Archival index of primary source publications related to the Americas that were written in Europe before 1750. Each record indicates archives or libraries where the primary source material is located.What's inside? Primary source index
Funk &Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Why search here? Contains over 25,000 reference entries to support research needs of middle and high school students. What's inside?  Encyclopedias 
Indigenous Peoples of North America - Gale Primary Sources Why search here? Explore the political, social and cultural history of indigenous peoples. Topics include Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian-federal relations and more. Primary source digital content sourced from select archives, government agencies and libraries and spans from sixteenth - twentieth century. What's inside? monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, images
Introduction to US History: Slavery in America Why search here? Primary source documents highlighting key aspects of the history of slavery in American from its origins in Africa to its abolition. Featured content includes materials on the slave trade, life on the plantation, religious views on slavery and emancipation. Content is sourced from the Sabin collection and other sources. What's inside? Personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, fictional works
Introduction to US History: The American Revolution Why search here?  Includes primary source documents spanning from early protests in 1795 through the 1783 peace treaty. Highlights include the Boston Massacre, Abigail Adams, and the surrender at Yorktown. Content is from the Sabin collection and other sources. What's inside? personal narratives, memoirs, political pamphlets and speeches, sermons, poems, legislative journals, popular magazines.
Introduction to US History: The Civil War Why search here? Includes primary source digitized documents that examine the war in all its complexity. Research topics range from battles and campaigns, political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, as well as causes to consequences. Content is from the Sabin collection and other sources.  What's inside? personal narratives, memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons, songs, regimental histories, photograph albums, legal treatises, children's books
LearningExpress Library Why search here? Easy to use online test prep resource. Improve core academic skills in math, reading and writing, or study to become a U.S. citizen. Targeted learning centers include prep for academic skills improvement and entrance exams for the NCLEX, PRAXIS, ASWB, EMT, NRP, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, ASVAB, firefighter, law enforcement and many, many more.What's inside? Academic prep, career exams, practice tests, interactive tutorials, microlessons, eBooks, articles, flashcards
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers - Gale Primary Sources What's inside? A full-text searchable database of over 400 rural and urban newspapers with content from every state. Provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America.What's inside? Major, local, and political newspapers, as well as church and other group publications
Points of View Reference Source Why search here? Research topics with search results that present multiple sides of an issue. Each topic contains an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument). Use the results to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.What's inside? guides with point and counterpoint arguments on current issuesDig deeper: Look for the Guide to Critical Analysis for each issue. Use it to help develop critical reading skills, personal perspectives, and strengthen debate skills. 
Science Reference Source Why search here? Search information on a wide range of science topics. Includes over 1,000 science experiments and 2,000 biographies, as well as reference books periodicals. Also includes more than 1,850 videos and high quality scientific images from NASA, Getty and Nature Picture Library. Great for high school science. What's inside? Magazines, academic journals, biographies, reviews, reference books, encyclopedias, lesson plans, images, videos, science experiments, curriculum standards moduleDig deeper: Filter results by Lexile level. Use the Curriculum Standards Module to identify EBSCO search terms that align to content standards by grade/subject area. 
SIRS Issues Researcher Why search here? Reference information on topical issues such as business, civil rights, crime, drugs, the environment and the world. Great for students in grades 6-12. What's inside? Newspapers, magazines, images, encyclopedias, web resources, government sources, scholarly journals
If you try to access the database and are asked to log in, please use the back button to return to this page. Then click the link again and you should be able to access the database.

Open access resources for Education

OpenVerse
- Why search here? Contains more than 700 million creative works including free-to-use stock images, photos and audio. All content exists either in the Public Domain or is free to use under Creative Commons Licensing.
- What's inside? images, audio

Resources for All Academic Areas

Find scholarly resources in library databases for any academic area

Academic Search Premier - EBSCO Why search here? World's largest academic multi-disciplinary database and a great resource for a combination of open access, popular and scholarly resources on a wide range of topics. What's inside? Biographies, educational reports, encyclopedias, medical guidelines, videos Search Smarter: Before you hit, “search,” refine your search by limiting your search to just full text or scholarly (peer reviewed) articles
Films On Demand Why search here? Includes a comprehensive collection of thousands of videos. Create playlists for lectures and utilize premade clips, full videos, or create custom segments for research projects. Videos include captions, transcripts, Google Translate and citations.What's inside? Documentaries, educational films, lectures, interviews, newsreels, primary source films feature films, dramas, performances, television adaptations, animations/cartoons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Why search here? Provides full-text access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images and primary sources in 75 disciplines.What's inside? Academic journals, books, images, primary sourcesDig deeper: Search by image and filter by primary source to find items from the collections of multiple archives and museums 
Nexis Uni Why search here? Nexis Uni™ features more than 17,000 from LexisNexis. Get credible search results on current events, company & financial information, and legal research.What's inside? Academic journals, law reviews, statues, legal documents, newspapers, media broadcast transcripts, images, blogs
ProQuest Research Library Why search here? A diversified mix of scholarly, professional and consumer periodicals covering over 150 subjects. Updated daily with new content.What's inside? Academic journals, books, conference papers, magazines, newspapers, reports, trade journalsSearch Smarter: Before you hit, “search,” refine your search by limiting your search to just full text or scholarly (peer reviewed) articles

Find background information in library databases for any academic area

Credo Reference Why search here? A full-text online reference service that contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.What's inside? dictionary terms, thesaurus terms, encyclopedic entries, videos, audio, maps
EBSCO eBook Collection Why search here? A wide selection of academic eBooks covering all subject areas. Find additional titles in categories such as Children's and YA fiction, biographies or memoirs. Dig deeper: Search by Lexile using the Lexile field code in the Find field. For example, search LX 410 to find eBooks matching that level.
ProQuest Ebook Central Why search here? eBook collection covering a wide range of titles for research, teaching and learning. What's inside? PDF and EPUB eBooks 
Reference eBook Collection Why search here? Find a selection of reference books from top educational publishers and university presses. Covers a broad range of subjects and includes reference materials suitable for K-12 through graduate level research. What's inside? reference eBooks, videos

Journals accessible through Mears Library

Access content from over 145,000 journals. When full text isn't available, request using Interlibrary Loan.

Learn more here → Discovery Search Tutorial

Find Full Text, academic sources with the ease of Google searching.

Looking for a way to find full text, academic sources quickly? Don’t just “google” it, use Google Scholar! Online search engines are designed for general information searches, background information, travel and shopping. Google Scholar uses Google's simple, clean interface to find scholarly articles, citations and case law. It even lets you know when full text is available from Mears! That means you can use it, with a few cautions, to search quickly online and access premium academic content from the library.

Here’s a quick list of what to expect with Google Scholar:

It feels like a search engine but works like a premium research database
It helps you “discover” citations for items, but may not provide links to full text articles
Look for Find @ Mears Library and use your MyUSF credentials to access premium content from journals

Link Google Scholar to Mears Library

Make it easier to find full text, premium academic content available to USF students. Create an account in Google Scholar and link to Mears' Library.

Go to https://scholar.google.com
Click the menu and navigate to Library Links
If you are on campus, the resources will already be selected
If you are off campus, search for: University of Sioux Falls. Then select:
- University of Sioux Falls - ProQuest full text
- University of Sioux Falls - Find @ USF-Mears Library
- Open WorldCat - Library Search

Education Subject Guide

Specific Scholarly Resources

Curated academic resources for Education

Media resources for Educators

Resources for learners in grades K-5

Resources for learners in grades 6-8

Resources for learners in grades 9-12

Open access resources for Education

Resources for All Academic Areas

Find scholarly resources in library databases for any academic area

Find background information in library databases for any academic area

Journals accessible through Mears Library

Find Full Text, academic sources with the ease of Google searching.

Link Google Scholar to Mears Library