LibGuides: Doctoral Program: Subject Guide

Specific Scholarly Resources

Curated academic resources for the Doctoral Program

Academic Search Premier - EBSCO
ProQuest Research Library
Business Source Premier Business materials from across the globe. Includes Harvard Faculty Seminar Series videos, MarketLine Reports, SWOT analyses, and Associated Press videos. Includes over 1,600 curated and indexed open access journals certified for inclusion. 
EBSCO Educational Administration Abstracts Find citations for journal articles in all areas of educational administration, leadership, management, and research.
ERIC via EBSCO ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers. It includes unique limiters such as: education level, WWC Reviewed, assessment type, and intended audience. Use the education-specific thesaurus to refine your search. 
ERIC via ProQuest ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers. It includes unique limiters such as: education level, WWC Reviewed, assessment type, and intended audience. Use the education-specific thesaurus to refine your search.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global World's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from 1637 to the present.
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database  Information on all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare including hospitals, insurance, law statistics, business management, ethics and public administration.
PsycInfo Published  by the American Psychological Association. Comprehensive indexing of international psychological literature from 1800s to present wiht 90% peer reviewed. 
Sociological Abstracts Find citations for scholarly research related to sociology and social work, including topics such as behavioral sciences, scientific, economic, and political issues.
WorldCat Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world.
Writer's Reference Center

Learn more here → Discovery Search Tutorial

Writer's Reference Center
From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides a wealth of vocabulary-building dictionaries, and presents a step-by-step guide to writing.

Resources for All Academic Areas

Find scholarly resources in library databases for all academic areas

Academic Search Premier - EBSCO World's largest academic multi-disciplinary database and a great resource for a combination of open access, popular and scholarly resources on a wide range of topics. 
ProQuest Research Library  Scholarly, professional and consumer periodicals covering over 150 subjects. Updated daily with new content.
Films On Demand A comprehensive collection of thousands of videos. Create playlists for lectures and utilize premade clips, full videos, or create custom segments for research projects. Videos include captions, transcripts, Google Translate and citations.
JSTOR Provides full-text access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 17,000 from LexisNexis. Get credible search results on current events, company & financial information, and legal research.

Find background information in library databases for all academic areas

Credo Reference A full-text online reference service that contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
EBSCO eBook Collection A wide selection of academic eBooks covering all subject areas. Find additional titles in categories such as Children's and YA fiction, biographies or memoirs. 
ProQuest Ebook Central  eBook collection covering a wide range of titles for research, teaching and learning. 
Ebsco Reference eBook Collection  Find a selection of reference books from top educational publishers and university presses. Covers a broad range of subjects and includes reference materials suitable for K-12 through graduate level research.

Journals accessible through Mears Library

Access content from over 145,000 journals. When full text isn't available, request using Interlibrary Loan.

Find Full Text, academic sources with the ease of Google searching.

Looking for a way to find full text, academic sources quickly? Don’t just “google” it, use Google Scholar! Online search engines are designed for general information searches, background information, travel and shopping. Google Scholar uses Google's simple, clean interface to find scholarly articles, citations and case law. It even lets you know when full text is available from Mears! That means you can use it, with a few cautions, to search quickly online and access premium academic content from the library.

Here’s a quick list of what to expect with Google Scholar:

It feels like a search engine but works like a premium research database
It helps you “discover” citations for items, but may not provide links to full text articles
Look for Find @ Mears Library and use your MyUSF credentials to access premium content from journals

Link Google Scholar to Mears Library

Make it easier to find full text, premium academic content available to USF students. Create an account in Google Scholar and link to Mears' Library.

Go to https://scholar.google.com
Click the menu and navigate to Library Links
If you are on campus, the resources will already be selected
If you are off campus, search for: University of Sioux Falls. Then select:
- University of Sioux Falls - ProQuest full text
- University of Sioux Falls - Find @ USF-Mears Library
- Open WorldCat - Library Search

Doctoral Program

Specific Scholarly Resources

Curated academic resources for the Doctoral Program

Resources for All Academic Areas

Find scholarly resources in library databases for all academic areas

Find background information in library databases for all academic areas

Journals accessible through Mears Library

Find Full Text, academic sources with the ease of Google searching.

Link Google Scholar to Mears Library